IPSO Alliance Announces New Board Leadership

San Jose, CA --- The IPSO Alliance (IPSO) announces its new board of directors and slate of officers for the coming year. New President and Chairman Christian Légaré of Micrium will lead the board, alongside Vice President Pete St. Pierre of Oracle, Treasurer Nick Ashworth of Eaton and Secretary Jan Höller of Ericsson. Additionally, ARM's Hannes Tschofenig was elected to the board for the first time, and joins additional board members Fabien Castanier of STMicroelectronics and Geoff Mulligan of Proto6.

The new board was introduced as part of the organization's spring member meeting, which took place at the end of May in Toronto. During highly productive working sessions, IPSO member companies were briefed on the status of the alliance's working groups, including Protocol, Semantics, and Security, Identity & Privacy.

This latter working group drove significant discussion from the members, around the idea that the exponential growth of IoT devices creates scalability issues with device-device interaction. However, device trust is essential to securing IoT. A highly diverse vendor community requires interoperability, which includes device authentication and attestation. Different approaches to solve this dilemma were presented, and this work will be a significant focus for the Security, Identity & Privacy working group moving forward.

The next member meeting will take place in October 2016 to review progress against each working group charter and objectives. Interested in joining the discussion? Contact the IPSO Alliance to learn about the benefits of membership.

For more information, visit http://www.ipso-alliance.org

Suggested Articles

Researchers at Nvidia think AI will be used to help learn laws of physics to help train machines and vehicles learn how to move and manuever.

Hyris bCUBE testing device for surface COVID-19 relies on AI to process data

IT spending confidence levels have stabilized in other countries but not the US, according to IDC.